Adams County School District 14
     5291 East 60th Avenue
     Commerce City, CO 80022
  303.853.3333    303.853.3329
communications@adams14.org

Adult Education


Welcome to the Adult Learning Center!

Locations
Staff

Like us on Facebook:     

If you need this information in a language other than English or Spanish, please call us at 303-289-4396 or email adulted@adams14.org. If it is after 4 pm Mon-Fri and it is an urgent matter, please text or call 720-316-7975.

Si necesita esta información en un idioma que no sea inglés o español, llámenos al 303-289-4396 o envíe un correo electrónico a adulted@adams14.org. Si es después de las 4 pm de lunes a viernes y es un asunto urgente, envíe un mensaje de texto o llame al 720-316-7975.

If you have a disability and you need accommodations, you must provide documentation to Jessie Perez at 720-322-8129 or jperez@adams14.org. You must meet with Ms. Perez prior to registering for classes.

Si tiene una discapacidad y necesita adaptaciones, debe proporcionar documentación a Jessie Perez al 720-322-8129 o jperez@adams14.org. Debe reunirse con la Sra. Perez antes de registrarse para las clases.

If you would like a text message reminder about our next registration or tell us what your adult education needs or interests are, please complete this form.

Si desea recibir un recordatorio por mensaje de texto sobre nuestra próxima inscripción o informarnos cuáles son sus necesidades o intereses de educación de adultos, completa este formulario.

We provide services for individuals 17 years old or older. We can serve 16 year olds only when they are court ordered to earn a high school equivalency diploma.  We must have a copy of the court order. For more information about this, go here. All learners in the program have the opportunity to explore career and postsecondary education options. We also incorporate soft skills development into all classes. Learners are provided with options for extending learning outside of the classroom using technology. In 2019-20, the registration fee is $30 per 7 week session and books are $25-$30 each depending on which class(es). Payment plan available for the registration fee. You can learn more about the ALC courses here.  

Brindamos servicios para personas mayores de 17 años. Podemos atender a jóvenes de 16 años solo cuando se les ordene en la corte obtener un diploma de equivalencia de escuela secundaria. Debemos tener una copia de la orden judicial. Para más información sobre esto, vaya aquí. Todos los estudiantes en el program tienen la oportunidad de explorar carreras y opciones educacionales post-secundarias. Tambien incorporamos desarrollo de habilidades sociales en todas las clases. A los estudiantes se les proporcionan opciones para continuar el aprendizaje fuera del salón usando tecnología. En 2019-20 la tarifa de inscripción es de $30 por sesión de 7 semanas y los libros cuestan entre $25 y $30 dependiendo de la clase(es). Plan de pago disponible para la tarifa de registro. Puede obtener más información sobre los cursos ALC aquí.

2019-20 classes include:

  • English as a Second Language - Levels 1-6
  • Family Literacy
  • Adult Basic Education (Reading, Writing and Math for individuals with skills below high school/secondary level)
  • Adult Secondary Education (Reading, Writing and Math for individuals with skills at 9th grade equivalent or higher
  • Preparation for the high school equivalency exams (GED, TASC, HiSET) - face to face and online classes
  • Learning Lab (learners attend 3 hours per week in a computer lab and use online learning platforms)


Clases del 2019-20 incluyen:

  • Clases de inglés como segundo idioma- Niveles del 1 al 6
  • Literacidad familiar
  • Literacidad Básica para Adultos (lectura, escritura y matemáticas para aquellos con habilidades mas abajo del nivel secundario)
  • Literacidad Avanzada para Adultos (lectura, escritura y matemáticas para aquellos con habilidades a nivel equivalente del 9 grado o más alto
  • Preparación para examenes que equivalen a la secundaria (GED, TASC, HiSET) - cara a cara o en línea
  • Laboratorio de Aprendizaje (los alumnos esperan 3 horas por semana en un laboratorio de computación y usan plataformas de aprendizaje en línea)

 

Other services:

  • Assessment administration (CASAS)
  • Career exploration and employment readiness skills
  • Postsecondary education (college) exploration and planning


Otros servicios:

  • Evaluacion administracion (CASAS)
  • Habilidades de exploración de carrera y preparación para el empleo
  • Educación y educación postsecundaria (colegio) y planificación.


2019-2020 Locations

Adams County School District 14

Educational Support Services, 5291 E 60th Ave, Commerce City, CO 80022 - Morning classes, English Levels 2-6, Adult Basic Education, and Adult Secondary Education (ASE).  All students attend Learning Lab 3 hours per week.

Rose Hill Elementary School, 6900 E 58th Ave, Commerce City, CO 80022 - Morning classes, Family Literacy - English classes for parents and preschool for children

Adams City High School, 7200 Quebec Pkwy, Commerce City, CO 80022 - Evening classes.  English Levels 2-6, Adult Basic Education, and Adult Secondary Education (ASE).  All students attend Learning Lab 3 hours per week.


Adams 12 Five Star Schools

STEM Launch K-8, 9450 N Pecos St, Thornton, CO 80260 - Morning classes, Family Literacy - English classes for parents and preschool for children

McElwain Elementary, 1020 Dawson Dr, Denver, CO 80229 - Morning classes, Family Literacy - English classes for parents and preschool for children

Crossroads Alternative Middle School, 10900 Huron St, Northglenn, CO 80234 - Evening classes, English Levels 2-6, Adult Basic Education, and Adult Secondary Education.  All students attend Learning Lab 3 hours per week.

 

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES - Morning and Evening

Teacher's assistant in Learning Labs and English as a Second Language (ESL) classes, Basic Reading/ Writing and/or Basic Math classes and/or classes to prepare for high school equivalency (HSE) exams, e.g. GED
Also opportunities to work one on one with learners who need conversation practice, help with homework, using computers and preparing for exams.

If you are interested, complete this volunteer application. If you do not hear from us within one week of submitting the application, please email adulted@adams14.org or call 303.289.4396.

 

Staff

Jessie Perez, Program Coordinator, 720.322.8129, jperez@adams14.org
Cynthia Luna, Administrative Assistant, 303.853.5571, cluna@adams14.org
Natalia Devlin, Instructional Coach, 720.322.8122, ndevlin@adams14.org
Marsha Dunn, Registration Assistant
Ana Guzman, Registration Assistant, aguzman@adams14.org 
Guadalupe Macias, Evening Program Assistant - Adams City High School, 303.853.7850, gumacias@adams14.org
Nina Rodriguez, Evening Childcare Assistant - Adams City High School, 303.853.7850
Maria Santoyo, Evening Childcare Assistant - Adams City High School, 303.853.7850

 

English Language Acquisition Instructors:

Bethany Depps, bdepps@adams14.org
Ana Lara, alaracardenas@adams14.org
Beth Pino, epino@adams14.org
Bethany Macarus, bmacarus@adams14.org
Blake Pendergrass, bpendergrass@adams14.org
Kimberly Elliott, kelliott@adams14.org
Paula Moldenhauer, pmoldenhauer@adams14.org
Susan Lenny, slenny@adams14.org

 

Adult Basic Education and Adult Secondary Education Instructors:

Omalley Abel, oabel@adams14.org
Mara Gaiser, mgaiser@adams14.org
Kelly Mathews, kmathews@adams14.org
Paula Moldenhauer, pmoldenhauer@adams14.org
Rachel Robinson, rrobinson@adams14.org

 

 Learning Lab Instructors:

Kyle Kawasaki, kkawasaki@adams14.org
Susan Cardasis, scardasis@adams14.org

 

Registration

We are unsure when we will hold our next registration due to COVID 19. No estamos seguros de cuándo celebraremos nuestro próximo registro debido a COVID 19.

If you would like a text message reminder about our next registration or tell us what your adult education needs or interests are, please complete this form.  Si desea recibir un recordatorio por mensaje de texto sobre nuestra próxima inscripción o informarnos cuáles son sus necesidades o intereses de educación de adultos, completa este formulario por favor.

Call 303.289.4396 or email adulted@adams14.org with questions.  Find us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Adams14ALC/.

Llame al 303.289.4396 o envíe un correo electrónico a adulted@adams14.org con preguntas. Encuentranos en Facebook en https://www.facebook.com/Adams14ALC/.

What's new

Adult Learning Center presents to Adams 14 Board

On March 12, 2019, our team presented to Adams 14 Board of Education on our goals and successes. Here is the video:

Family literacy in the news

Telemundo did a story about the Family Literacy program in Adams 12 in partnership with Metro State.  Adams 14 has a partnership with Adams 12 to offer evening classes at Crossroads Alternative Middle School.

Find us on Facebook